College ‘memories’

First attempt at community college

It was a local school kids like me went to because they believed what their guidance counselor said, “You’re too stupid to go to a four year school.”

#1 My first year, my professor made me read my paper on my anorexia to the class. The room was silent and intense.

#2 I drove a red Buick I paid $500 for.

#3 Not doing my work or studying, academic probation.

#4 Sent my professor a nasty email claiming that he talks to us like we are high schoolers (yeah he failed me but mainly because I didn’t do my work).

#5 Took Abnormal Psychology and began to see everyone around me as lunatics.

#6 Academic probation.

#7 A year or so off of school and never going back there…

 

 

Second attempt at community college

#1 My intent was to be a Physical Education major at a school 2 hours away in the city my boyfriend lived. We broke up and I changed it to Liberal Arts: Humanities and Social Science with a concentration in Humanities. I did my entire Associates degree online.

#2 There was a lot of writing and research, if not more than what I would be doing at my next school as a writing major.

#3 My intent was to move on with a four year degree in Anthropology until I smashed my laptop one day writing a 20 page research paper in Chicago style.

#4 I met my boyfriend of five years when I was in school and no, we didn’t go to the same one but had similar history of screwing up school.

#5 I don’t remember much about the course work. I was sick a lot and gained weight but burned it off. I learned I can’t take Cipro because I get all the side effects…

#6 I was on the deans list 3 times.

#7 An agent of douchebags (an ex) fueled me to go on/finish school.

 

 

Bachelors degree at a four year school

#1 I got a scholarship for doing well at the community college.

#2 I lived on campus for a year and had my own dorm room. Sometimes my boyfriend would stay over.

#3 One night, I was drunk and he took out a wine glass out of my fridge and dropped it. We went to bed and I climbed on top of him and scratched his face. He went home, mad…

#4 I drove my Malibu that had electrical issues; sometimes the headlights and turning signal worked, sometimes it did not. I got pulled over once for it and began crying and the officer let me go.

#5 My manager at my campus catering job let us stand in the back of the truck while she drove, dyed her hair red, and showed me a butterfly cookie.

#6 A hallmate drew a penis on my board.

#7 There was a certain incident with a hot tub and someone naked, I won’t talk about.

#8 In the shower, I head out with a towel. Another girl comes in and looks at me. Later she tells my boyfriend about how perfect volume my hair is and he tells her that I’m also bisexual.

#9 Dance club for a year and half.

#10 Took 3 studio dance training classes for college credit. One class required me to develop a routine with some girls… In one I had to slow dance with one.

#11 I called my mom and said I didn’t really like men and she said, “What you’re calling to tell me you’re gay?” No, no I said something along the lines of being bisexual.

#12 Starting my own dance routine for the club and canceling it.

#13 Feeling like I was constantly being watched and followed — I was.

#14 I graduated and you couldn’t pay me to go back there for anything.

Leave a Reply

